Guest Reviews

Sebeka, US
Reviewed: Aug 28, 2017
Property
The house is beautiful and well stocked. We love being close to Grand Marais, but yet far enough out to "get away". It's a peaceful retreat.
View Property: Devil Track Home 218
Blaine, US
Reviewed: Aug 27, 2017
Property
Had been many years since a previous visit, but we loved our stay. Although small, cabin has everything needed and is well maintained and clean. We met the owners and had a chance to let them know how much we enjoyed our stay and appreciated their efforts. It is such a great location, right on the Lake. Couldn't be better.
View Property: Opels Cabin 2
Duluth, US
Reviewed: Aug 27, 2017
Property Manager
Helpful and pleasant on the phone.
Property
All great. Cabin cozy, warm,clean and well-equipped. Liked the remoteness, yet close proximity to Grand Marais. Slept many, another plus.
View Property: Cedar Cove
Buffalo, US
Reviewed: Aug 27, 2017
Property Manager
You have been very easy to work with and we did stop into your office and book the cabin for next year....I added a day for this year and that was taken care of promptly...all in all a good experience.
Property
We loved the cabin. It was perfect for our needs. I like to read at night and stay up late but we have a child with us that needs to get to bed, with the loft bedroom they had a space and so did I. We also liked that it was so private.....just you and the wildlife...our father had owned a cabin for many years and this brought back fond memories of that....we could bring in our own food and cook if we wanted to or go out....also it was easy to go up to Grand Marais which is a favorite place for us....all around just a great place.
View Property: Morning Light Cabin
Seattle, US
Reviewed: Aug 27, 2017
Property Manager
everything was clearly layed out in the few email correspondences we had. my experience working with an actual human being felt absent. this is not a criticism. i felt well taken care of and communicated with, but nothing came up that required further interaction.
Property
the location of Pointavu was incredible- close to conveniences like the general store and adventure rental/ supply store but tucked away enough in the trees to feel far away from the 'real world' once we got home. these things were the cherry on top of the real treat which, to me, was the ability to walk right out onto the shore from the (huge, amazing) deck. the open plan of the main room made for a perfect space for our group of nine to spread out but be together. the large dining table with views of the water and the kyakers going by was, again, perfect. we were provided everything necessary to have a wonderful trip- bountiful games and puzzles and reading material, plenty of places to sleep and blankets to cozy up under, tucked away bedrooms for the light sleepers, perfectly out-of-the-way modest televisions for a lazy movie night, an open kitchen so the cook could stay engaged, an excellent grill, that huge deck and sturdy furniture set(!), that ocean of a lake just a few steps away!
View Property: Pointavu
Beeville, US
Reviewed: Aug 27, 2017
Property Manager
Everyone very pleasant & helpful
Property
Beautiful property!! Enjoyed the views, and we weren't even on the water!! Nice to have wi-fi at Lodge, but not be too distracted by that. And since we fly in, we LOVE the easy access to Skyport Lodge!!
View Property: Devil Track Home 218
Reviewed: Aug 27, 2017
Property Manager
The space was truly a living space. The home is beautiful inside and out. There are a couple quirks mainly sound carries to the bed space from the living space so well I could hear my partner putting together a puzzle. Also the lighting is based in the soffit structure around the perimeter of the building so central areas are a little dark. The audio visual equipment is not quite top of an audiophiles list. That being said it is on the list. The componentry took a little figuring out, and the instructions provided contained instructions for a dvd player that had been replaced. and this led to a totally different set of tasks to get video and I pod functions. On the stormy days we had access to an ample if older supply of DVD's. However, the Dish Network had almost no channels and the ones that were available were primarily stations that showed continuous infomercials. The new dvd player did have Netflix, Hulu and Youtube but was not connected to the internet so we had no access to them or HBO go. we missed GOT (grumble grumble) Stacie absolutely loved the Frank Lloyd Wright puzzles and completed two of them during our stay. we had to borrow a reading lamp from one of the downstairs bedrooms to get enough light for the puzzles though. The home itself is picturesque inside and out. I am a design/builder I would have loved to study the set of plans to get a more comprehensive understanding of Howe's organization of the space both visually and physically. There are organizational elements that seem to register in my subconscious mind that I cannot bring to the conscious side. Howe must'ave been the backbone of Writes work. The design elements in this home are proof of Howe's architectural skill and fundamental understandings of space. I've thought this for a long time and spending days in the space has affirmed it. This home is a home that was designed to be lived in and to enhance the live of those living in it. If you are an architecture buff or not this space is truly wonderful and spending time in it will enhance your life.
Property
View Property: Seagull House
Bagley, US
Reviewed: Aug 26, 2017
Property Manager
Very easy to work with. Having the lock box is great.
Property
This was a little slice of paradise! The location to the beach was perfect. Very clean and well equipped. It was great that we could bring our dog, she loved it as well.
View Property: Superior Reflections 2
Roseville, US
Reviewed: Aug 26, 2017
Property Manager
The great staff is key--and it is one of the most powerful reasons we recommend you to our friends... The crew is thoughtful, competent, and enjoyable to work with. This year's stay involved the problem-solving re location, and was handled very well, and Thank You All! You may use our comments, but we do not want to be identified by name.
Property
We enjoyed the stay at Cobblestone 4--though it was a surprise as we'd reserved the Governor's Cabin--which was undergoing an unfortunatate plumbing crisis. From cabin to luxury condo was a change that really is quite a switch! It was an outstanding replacement. We especially enjoyed being in the middle of town, right near the co-op (& its great coffee)...plus it was fun being right on the water.
View Property: Cobblestone Cove 4
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Aug 26, 2017
Property Manager
Fantastic! Very helpful,!
Property
BASECAMP is an absolute delight! The deck to Lake and dock were just spectacular! Spent hours sitting and enjoying the constant play of light, song of loons, eagle flying overhead and amazing peace. Added to that is the opportunity to play in/on the lake, walk, hike and great access to the big lake shore and area. The house itself is clean, comfortable and well stocked with all needs. Cooked most meals in the great kitchen. A definite place to consider!
View Property: Base Camp
Minnetonka, US
Reviewed: Aug 25, 2017
Property
Our family has been renting homes for about 9 years now. Each year as our family grows we rent different homes to accommodate our needs. We found our home! The layout is perfect, and the view of the lake is outstanding! The house is clean, and well kept. We love it and can't want to come back next year! The only negative that we had was the bed in the front bedroom is a full size and we thought that should be the room with the queen bed.
View Property: Cedar Allee
Willmar, US
Reviewed: Aug 24, 2017
Property
Very nice. Close to Lake Superior and great view.
View Property: Superior Reflections 2
Ho Ho Kus, US
Reviewed: Aug 24, 2017
Property Manager
Easy
Property
Comfortable and clean, great location with amazing view of Lake Superior. House was equipped with everything we needed and was in a good, central location to access all that the North Shore has to offer.
View Property: Leveaux Mtn Lodge
Anoka, US
Reviewed: Aug 23, 2017
Property Manager
No face to face just email and everything went off without a hitch
Property
We wanted to rent a clean place that was centrally located in Grand Marais. The Vintage Voyageur far exceeded expectations! It was so clean, so simple and so comfortable and cute! Our 2 year old was so excited about getting "her own" room she wanted to go to bed the minute we got there! We had no idea how close we would be to the harbor and the shops and we loved that part. The place was just the perfect size for our family ---Mom, Dad, big sis and baby. We definitely plan to come back next year to the same place if the sisters will share a bed. The only negative comment is we don't see the necessity of having to take our own garbage with us when the house was in town with plenty of opportunity for others to deal with the garbage. The garbage drop off location was also confusing even with the map even to us seasoned travelers. Driving 25 miles with 3 days of garbage and stinky diapers isn't a fun way to end vacation. That's the only reason we'll lower the review a little.
View Property: Vintage Voyageur
St. Paul, US
Reviewed: Aug 23, 2017
Property Manager
Everyone has always been very helpful, kind, and willing to go out of your way to help us. We are so grateful!
Property
This house is lovely! It was a great launching pad for us to enjoy nature all day, and come here to sleep. Also a very easy walk into Grand Marais for food and drinks. We loved it!
View Property: Northern Lights Cottage
Eden Prairie, US
Reviewed: Aug 23, 2017
Property Manager
The onsite managers were friendly and very helpful when we had an issue with the tv.
Property
The room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. Tofte is centrally located so it is easy to visit the many state parks in the area. The deck is wonderful.
View Property: Chateau Suite 302
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Aug 23, 2017
Property
A wonderful, charming, and well kept condo. Perfect location on the end so more sunlight to enjoy, and a beautiful view of the lake.
View Property: Chateau 17
Broken Arrow, US
Reviewed: Aug 23, 2017
Property Manager
Team was communicative and helpful. Top notch.
Property
Cobblestone Cove is by far one of our favorite places to stay on the North Shore, and we've stayed at quite a few places over the years. The location, amenities, and the ease of rental were superb. We'll definitely be back!
View Property: Cobblestone Cove 10
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2017
Property
This is a beautiful property with really pleasant amenities. The cabin is updated but still had a lot of character and "up north" feel. The only recommendation that I would have is to trim the area between the deck and lake. It would be nice to be able to easily access and see the lake shore from the backyard area.
View Property: Bay Breeze
Iowa City, US
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2017
Property
We loved the location and the cozy feel of the house, very homey. Our daughter really enjoyed the VHS collection and games!
View Property: Caribou Cove
White Bear Lake, US
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2017
Property
We enjoyed Grand Superior #502 - a nice, quiet location at the resort. We have previously rented from Grand Superior's townhouses, but then you deal with neighbor noise issues at times. This stand-alone cabin was quiet and peaceful, set off to the far side of the resort property. Our only recommendation is providing a little more in the kitchen area - better pots/pans and some other cooking items.
View Property: Grand Superior Lodge 502
Glenwood, US
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2017
Property
A great relaxing place to stay. It is very secluded feeling and quiet!
View Property: Terrace Point 13B
stillwater, US
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2017
Property Manager
Everyone I talked to was very helpful!
Property
We loved the Eagles Nest! It was a unique house! It was spacious but cozy! It met our family's needs wonderfully! We loved the Eagle's Nest's views! We hated to leave!!!
View Property: Eagles Nest
Edina , US
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2017
Property Manager
Tammy was wonderful. Just couldn't get hold of anybody during our stay.
Property
House was great. Excellent location.
View Property: Heritage B Full Home
Plymouth, US
Reviewed: Aug 21, 2017
Property Manager
The couple at the front desk were welcoming and friendly. I thought having coffee and pizzas available was a nice touch.
Property
Great location. Loved hearing the waves of Lake Superior. Nice managers.
View Property: Chateau 3