Guest Reviews

Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
Poplar Creek Retreat: Wonderfully quiet & secluded location. Lovely cabin with a nice open lay out. Clean. Our family really enjoyed it. We saw a bear just a few hundred feet from the cabin. The neighborhood moose eluded us though. The online booking system was easy and check in/out was a breeze. Only downfall: The lake access is limited and dock is very small. No soap for dishwasher. GPS coordinates may have been helpful in finding location. We will definitely stay again!
Property
Stacy, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
I have stayed here a number of times and each time it just gets better! The house is spacious, comfortable and conveniently located so we can access all of the amenities of that north shore metropolis, Tofte!
Property
View Property: Parkview
Osage beach, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
Everything was great
Property
View Property: Lutsen Log Lodge 24
St. Louis Park, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
Loved how clean the cabin was and the view was incredible. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends. Not that it is very important as who really wants to watch tv in that beautiful location, but it was so small we couldn't see the news unless we were standing right in front of it.
Property
View Property: Opels Cabin 2
Dayton, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
The house was beautiful, close to where my sister lives, had a lovely kitchen,with beautiful dishes and glassware. Enough baths for all of us. The beds were comfortable, and we appreciated the ceiling fans.The kitchen/dining area had a huge table for all of us to sit around and talk. The living room is quite small, but big enough for 7 people to sit in, or watch TV (if that's what you want to do) There is a really nice laundry room, which we didn't use. I would have liked to have seen at least one chef's knife in the house; I usually bring my own knife, but I figured for $300 per night, I wouldn't have to.The fireplace was very pretty, but we had no idea how to work it, and we found no instructions.The lake is a lovely short walk from the house, with a dock to sit on and a great view. It is a nice quiet area to stay.
Property
View Property: Devil Track Home 218
Lakeville, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
Absolutely loved the cabin and location. Beautiful and serene.
Property
View Property: Superior Shores 4
Wayzata, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
We have rented from Cascade for five years and have always found the experience positive. The properties have all been great and maintained.
Property
View Property: Aspenwood 6536
lakeville, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
There was nothing we didn't like.
Property
View Property: Grand Superior Lodge 502
Glenwood, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
The property is amazing. The beach area with the cove and waterfall were gorgeous and we had a hard time leaving here at the end of our stay. The cabin is older and needs some updating.
Property
View Property: Cathys Cove
Norwood, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2016
Property Manager
great location. we come every year.
Property
View Property: Cobblestone Cove 8
Perry, US
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2016
Property Manager
Great views of Lake Superior. The condo was perfect for our needs.
Property
View Property: Chateau 23
St Paul, US
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2016
Property Manager
Liked the view, two decks, roominess, sauna, very clean and comfortable. Only thing I would do is replace the carpet with wood or tile flooring.
Property
View Property: Nordkapp
Winona, US
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2016
Property Manager
The home is beautiful, well-equipped, comfortable and an entirely lovely place to stay. The service was excellent. My only suggestion would be to find another spot to put garbage and recyclables at the end of the trip. The gravel road is a bit of a challenge and, when we left, construction vehicles were blocking the path so we ended up carrying the garbage all the way home! Everything else about the home and service was delightful.
Property
View Property: Seagull House
Richfield, US
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2016
Property Manager
As many times as I have stayed at the Chateau, I have never had a bad experience. Unit 26 is always clean, the beds comfortable and, of course, the view from the deck always inspiring. Some of the "issues" we had were (1) no dishcloth(s) for washing dishes (luckily I had one with me that I was bringing back from our summer place that we used); (2) no scissors in the kitchen; (3) incomplete set of measuring cups; (4) not enough places in the main bathroom to hang wet towels (especially if you have more than 2 people staying in the unit). I would suggest somewhere whether it be on the website or in an e-mail confirmation that guests need to provide their own tin foil, baggies, plastic wrap, napkins, etc. We had to buy those things in Grand Marais. However, those are just minor things. It did not impact our stay in anyway!!!
Property
View Property: Chateau 26
Davenport, US
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2016
Property Manager
The location is fantastic. Last Monday there were big waves that crashed right below our cottage. We were thrilled when we got there to find a new hideabed that was comfortable to sit on plus a big chair. No problems with anything and signed up for next year,
Property
View Property: Opels Shoreside
Nescopeck, US
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2016
Property Manager
The house was beautiful it had everything you would need for a great vacation
Property
View Property: Phoenix Cabin
richfield, US
Reviewed: Sep 18, 2016
Property Manager
The cabin was cozy and lovely. Wonderful breezes, quiet sounds of nature, felt private. Loved the pocket doors on bedrooms for space management. We enjoyed waking up to the sunrise from the bed and listening to the waves at night. We were not in the cabin during the day as we were out exploring but enjoyed watching dvd's in the evening. Love the dining room with wrap around windows with views of the lake and great air flow. Did not use the stove but used plates. Very grateful for the water cooler, used both hot and cold water and made ice cubes in freezer. Furniture was comfortable- we brought lots of sheets to cover furniture in case dogs got on by mistake. The only thing we were not happy with was the high mineral water for bathing. Felt very different not getting lather. Someone later suggested using castille soap next time as it works well in hard water. Suggestions: Hard to find cabin turnoff if coming from the north (coming from grand Marais) Bring soap/shampoos that work in hard water, Bring extra sheets for sofa and futon to cover for dogs. Defintely check out CoHo bakery in Tofte (awesome scones) Have dinner/lunch at Dockside (dog friendly on deck)
Property
View Property: Superior Reflections 3
Flossmoor, US
Reviewed: Sep 16, 2016
Property Manager
The location was perfect. Quiet, barely any sound from, the road. Remote enough, but not isolated. I loved it! The house is beautiful, spotlessly clean, nicely furnished. I can't think of anything that wasn't perfect.
Property
View Property: Heaven Sent
Allen, US
Reviewed: Sep 16, 2016
Property Manager
The location was great! Just about a half mile from downtown and the lake. Easy walking to restaurants, shopping and the shore. The Blue Bungalow is very cute and renting with Cascade Rentals has always been easy. We have stayed in several properties and they were are all very nice and well kept.
Property
View Property: Blue Lake Bungalow
Maple Grove, US
Reviewed: Sep 15, 2016
Property Manager
The remodel was very well updated, very comfortable for two people. There is zero flat space for luggage. You end up with suitcases on the kitchen chairs. Would be fairly easy to convert one of the closets to some luggage shelves.
Property
View Property: Chateau 16
Omaha, US
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2016
Property Manager
Beautiful location. Cabin was clean on the inside. The outside could have done with some clean up. The road in should have been mowed. Owners are very nice folks. Steps to the beach were a nice touch. Short on toilet paper.
Property
View Property: Superior Reflections 1
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2016
Property Manager
We loved the home so much! I sent a longer letter about the place, but it really was a dream, from the setting to the architecture to the amenities. The only suggestion I have is some way to cool the house other than fans. It got hot at night when we were sleeping and we had to sleep with the door open. Otherwise it was amazing. Loved the movie selection too, and the fire pit by the water!
Property
San Francisco, US
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2016
Property Manager
Hi, My Husband and I rented the Birken Bay home 9/8-9/11 and fell so in love with it we wanted to write a note to the owners to let them know how much we appreciated the artistry of this beautiful home. We celebrated our second wedding anniversary there last weekend and how amazing to hole up in a dome-shaped home given that we bonded on our first date four years ago discussing our mutual love for Buckminster Fuller and his geodesic domes. It's rare to see so much thought put into a home especially a rental home. We were floored by the relationship of the geometric shapes on the property, from the shape of the house to the raised platforms for the furniture and fireplace in the living room to the gorgeous picnic table on the deck. Even the windows were works of art, capturing the lake in such cool ways but also with the occasional detail such as the slants of wood in the skylight near the kitchen. You could really feel the love that went into the Birken Bay home (down to the cute kids' cubby area downstairs). It was really cool to see the photos of the family that made the place possible. We would've loved to have met the owners and hear more about their inspiration for creating such a beautiful, cool, and well-thought space, and to learn more about how this special home came together. But since we're in San Francisco, we wanted to share our appreciation for what they've created and thank them for making it available to the public in this way. We hope to be able to return to your gorgeous dome some day again. We also loved the Great Lakes Cargo game! Played it every night. The design on that one was beautiful too. Hopefully it's not so old that we can't track down one too ;)
Property
View Property: Birken Bay
la crescent, US
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2016
Property Manager
We stayed here last year and knew we would come back. Love the comfortable chairs out and in. Great location. A little expensive for 2 people but we spend a lot of time there relaxing.
Property
View Property: Drom Hytte
St Paul, US
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2016
Property Manager
Very neat and tidy. Pleasing furnishings and plenty of dishes. Large (narrow) deck with gorgeous view of the lake. Nice amenities in common areas and wonderful outdoor deck/patio with gas fireplace lit every night. Good access to lake shore. Bonfires encouraged.
Property
View Property: Chateau 21