Guest Reviews

St Joseph, US
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2016
Property Manager
Beautiful location, with wonderful landscaped yard and terrific views from two decks. We were very comfortable here. Loved the privacy, the sense of solitude. We had a great experience. If I had one request it would be for some kitchen storage space for our non-refrigerated foods. We had to just pile things on the breakfast bar.
Property
View Property: Leveaux Mtn Lodge
Eden Prairie, US
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2016
Property Manager
Anything that gets me this type of all around access to Lake Superior, including just being able to hear the waves from the master bedroom, will get a top rating.
Property
View Property: Bluefin Bay 56B
Oakdale, US
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2016
Property Manager
It was another great stay waves lulled us to sleep! Perfect weather!
Property
View Property: Superior Shores 6
MInneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2016
Property Manager
We loved the Blue Bungalow. It was an excellent size for us and a great location. We could walk to the center of Grand Marais and yet were far enough away that we were not inconvenienced by the amount of people and traffic there. We had our breakfast on the back porch in the mornings. which was a real treat. The house was better outfitted than we expected. The only problem was the garbage situation. We thought that if recycle and trash containers were available we could separate things as required and for the amount we payed Cascade should have then collected it after our visit.
Property
View Property: Blue Lake Bungalow
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jul 7, 2016
Property Manager
This is an absolutely beautiful cabin. The kitchen is easy to use, the bed is comfortable and it is very tastefully decorated. Its location right on the lake is nothing short of divine.
Property
View Property: Spirit Haven
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jul 7, 2016
Property Manager
Nice views of Lake Superior! Good layout. Convenient location. We wished we had brought some pillows from home--the pillows on the beds are not plump and we only found one extra pillow. The ceiling fan in the master bedroom made so much noise when we turned it on, we did not use it.
Property
View Property: Heritage C
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jul 7, 2016
Property Manager
Truly enjoyed the character of the property and the close proximity to the lake. The nearby rental property felt somewhat odd but not that big of a deal. I felt the value was extremely good for the property. Very interested in returning for a longer stay. Suggestions for improvement: the master bedroom needs a decent mattress, the foam pad doesn't really cut it. The grill needs a new grate. This did not negatively affect our stay...just informational for the owner. The lock box for the key was really hard to find; did I miss the location description on the email? Never would have found it if it was dark.
Property
View Property: Deer Creek
St. Paul, US
Reviewed: Jul 7, 2016
Property Manager
The location is absolutely amazing. The large windows give such a panoramic view of the lake. The hammock was absolutely wonderful! We sat out on the little island and just relaxed. It was truly a perfect location. Close to parks, close to Grand Marais, close to Lutsen. Perfect location right on the water. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. What we liked least, was the water had a definite odor to it as did the towels, and it could use some maintenance overall, like new flooring, and the deck is in need of repair as well. Our friends have a cottage just about 3/4 miles away and they said the water heater just needs to be drained and flushed out to get rid of the odor and some of the brown color. Overall, we would come back. We loved it! Was awesome that it had a dishwasher as so many of the cabins do not, and we like to do our own cooking, so this was a perk!
Property
View Property: Brave Cove
Shoreview, US
Reviewed: Jul 7, 2016
Property Manager
Beautiful chateau! Loved the view, which was a big reason we chose this unit. Loved taking our coffee down to the rocks by the water each morning. A few minor things that could make this place even better would be nicer sheets on the bed and better shading on the sky lights. Overall though did it detract from our stay.
Property
View Property: Chateau 26
Rochester, US
Reviewed: Jul 6, 2016
Property Manager
Awesome new staircase to the beach. This one isn't scary at all, however we found far fewer agates, likely a result of this, :). We have rented the Aspewnwood unit 6526 at least four times now and have noticed that there is a GFI line along the kitchen counter that is out, decreasing the available outlets. We also noticed this time that the downstairs toilet seat was broken and several sheet sets were dirty. Noticeable enough that we laundered two sets of them before use. We love renting Aspenwood units, but I'm sorry to say that we have had issues with the cleanliness of the units over the years and it seems to be getting worse, rather than better. All considered, I still give it 4 stars for the great location and value for the cost.
Property
View Property: Aspenwood 6526
White Bear Lake, US
Reviewed: Jul 6, 2016
Property Manager
Shower head was loose, and water filled the tub during the shower. Mattress in back bedroom could be replaced. Loved the location, deck right on Lake Superior was fabulous! So close to the town of Lutson, which had everything we needed. Check in and check out was so easy, loved that!
Property
View Property: R and R
Woodbury, US
Reviewed: Jul 6, 2016
Property Manager
We had a great stay and experience at North Haven. The cabin was very nice and had anything that you could want or need for a stay on the north shore. The firepit and picnic table overlooking the lake were perfect and the location of the cabin allowed easy trips to many north shore destinations.
Property
View Property: North Haven
San Tan Valley, US
Reviewed: Jul 4, 2016
Property Manager
this home is wonderful, we loved the lake right off the deck, being able to walk a few feet and be at the waterfront!! We really didn't want to leave to do anything else but sit on the deck and relax with the sound of the lake.
Property
View Property: Heaven Sent
Omaha, US
Reviewed: Jul 4, 2016
Property Manager
Our 8th year at The Namaste Guest House. Just great! We'll be back.
Property
View Property: Namaste Guest
Rochester, US
Reviewed: Jul 3, 2016
Property Manager
Great cabin, beautiful garden.
Property
View Property: Governors Cabin
Waterloo, US
Reviewed: Jul 3, 2016
Property Manager
We took our granddaughter to the North Shore and stayed in Aspenwood 6550 for three days. This 2-bedroom, 3-floor condo was very nice and met all of our needs. The view of Lake Superior from the master bedroom and dinning/sitting room was spectacular! Having 2 bathrooms and a half-bathroom (one on each of the 3 floors) was very convenient. This is a very roomy unit and is at the end of the complex, making it a little more quiet and private. Located between Tofte and Lutsen gave us access to good restaurants, a couple state parks, and several activities. We will definitely try to rent this unit in the future.
Property
View Property: Aspenwood 6550
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jul 3, 2016
Property Manager
This was our fourth visit to Illahee. Wonderful location along Lake Superior. Beautiful! We were six, that included two active boys. The property allowed us to stretch out, give us privacy if we chose. Acces to the state parks and boundary waters was an easy drive. Proximity to Grand Marais was a bonus for augmenting supplies, window shopping, and lunch several days. Thank you for sharing this spectacular home with our family. JS
Property
View Property: Illahee
St paul, US
Reviewed: Jul 2, 2016
Property Manager
The home was beautiful, we loved the space and the views were fabulous. The only thing we would fix is it got very hot upstairs. Otherwise everything was amazing.
Property
View Property: Aspenwood 6538
Reedsburg, US
Reviewed: Jul 2, 2016
Property Manager
This is a lovely, simple cottage, very comfortable, no unnecessary frills. The location is amazing; the lake is your constant companion, singing day and night. Very quiet location, quite a lot of stairs, but well worth the climb. Close to Cascade State Park, Tofte (Coho Cafe) and Grand Marais with art stores, book stores, outfitters and great restaurants. A perfect retreat.
Property
View Property: Namaste Guest
Saint Paul, US
Reviewed: Jul 2, 2016
Property Manager
We LOVED Hovland Hideaway! Darling cabin. Very comfortable, clean, and cute place. The spot where it is located along the shoreline is fantastic. LONG private beach (with some sand... a rare find on the North Shore! ) EXPANSIVE view of the lake. Very private lot. We never saw another person along this stretch of shoreline. The lot the cabin is on is HUGE and grassy. Tons of space for kids or a dog to run around and play. If you're a "rock hound" the beach has a wonderful array of rocks of all kinds and sizes. Kitchen was well stocked, and we loved that the cabin had lots of windows to see the beautiful ever changing lake, and to let in the scent of spruce, fir and birch! One of our favorite spaces in the cabin was the upstairs sitting area between the bedrooms. Very comfy chairs, wonderful lake views (where you can really see the waves rolling in, and there's great morning sun in that room. We had our coffee there every morning and a glass of wine there on nights when there were waves to watch...
Property
View Property: Hovland Hideaway
Wainscott, US
Reviewed: Jul 2, 2016
Property Manager
all was perfect, perhaps a little kitchen stuff upgrate would be nice
Property
View Property: Morning Light Cabin
Bloomington, US
Reviewed: Jul 2, 2016
Property Manager
This location is nestled away in the woods for a true experience of Mother Nature from the comfort of a climate-controlled cabin. There were several moose and deer sightings right on the property with a short hike to a lake or creek. The area has some resorts, gift shops, and a bait shop (about 2 miles from the cabin) for convenience and it's right about the halfway point of the Gunflint Trail so equidistant to the northernmost point and Grand Marais. The cabin should have just about everything you need to enjoy your stay, which makes packing practically effortless (especially compared to camping). We are already making plans to return!
Property
View Property: Poplar Creek Retreat
Perham, US
Reviewed: Jul 1, 2016
Property Manager
It was all exactly as stated in the description so no suprises which was great
Property
View Property: Lutsen Log Lodge 42
Lakeville, US
Reviewed: Jun 29, 2016
Property Manager
The home was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The kitchen was well-equipped. We loved the great collection of books. The home felt warm and cozy, yet offered enough space and quiet corners to allow us individual privacy. We found the facility clean and well maintained upon check in. Our only negative comment with the property was the spiral staircase--using it required a little extra care (at least for two of us 50+ year-old guests). Conveniently located near Grand Marais and State Parks. Sisters Cabin provided a fantastic vacation home!
Property
View Property: Sisters Cabin
Bolingbrook, US
Reviewed: Jun 29, 2016
Property Manager
The house was spacious, clean, and modern, and it contained all of the amenities that we needed to experience a nice getaway from the kids. The location, though conveniently close to amazing hiking trails, is far away from a decent restaurant, with the exception of the restaurant at the Blu Fin resort.
Property
View Property: Aspenwood 6538