Guest Reviews

St. Paul
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Beautifully kept cabin! It's our 3rd year staying at one of the Opel Cabins, and they are always great. Clean, all of the basics, just what you need for a nice weekend on the North Shore.
Omaha
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The cabin is ideally situated on peaceful Croftville Road, with a small section of private beach shared with the 2 other Opel cabins. Check-in was very easy... be sure to stop in Tofte on your way up, to get the key. The cabin is small but beds are comfortable. We didn't use the kitchen appliances, so can't comment on those. No microwave, but everything else is there. Bathroom is small but plenty of hot water and water pressure. Great view of the lake! Overall, a good value.
Urbandale
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
I had stayed in Lake Superior cabins in the '60s and '70s and wanted to recreate the experience with my kids. It was just what we were looking for. We loved to sit on the porch and watch the lake and made a fire in the fire pit nearly every night for s'mores. It is not fancy or luxe, just peaceful and serene.
Fargo
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This little cabin may be little but it is big on charm and simplicity. Situated just a stones throw from Lake Superior, it offers splendid views from just the front porch. There is access to a little beach just across the road (and adjacent to another Opel cabin that is literally on the shore). For the upper north shore I was surprised that places like this still exist since much of the shore is being commercialized by big resorts. I like Opel 2 because it is simple. It has a kitchen, fridge, bathroom with shower, 2 bedrooms and a porch. The cabin is just a short drive from the Grand Marias downtown. And there are some great parks along the highway up the shore- I recommend CR Magney. As a home base for daytime adventures this place fit the bill.
North St. Paul
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Quaint basic cabin. Very clean. Wonderful view from the porch, each access to water's edge, all on a quiet street. We will do it again sometime soon.
White Bear Township
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
If you are looking for a clean, well supplied place to stay while exploring the North Shore, Opel One is the cabin for you! The front bedroom features the feeling of being on the lake, and the entire cabin enjoys the sound of the waves at all times. The back bedroom is cozy, and the main area has a kitchen table, four chairs and all you need to cook meals. There is no living room -- so your time should be spent outdoors exploring or maybe eating at the table or playing scrabble . . . we also did one of the jigsaw puzzles conveniently supplied. The deck has chairs for lake-watching, and the steps to a private beach are few and easily negotiated. Lake Superior is magical, and you can get no closer . . . and also no better "deal" for your vacation budget. But . . . if for some odd reason you come to the North Shore to stay indoors, you will miss a sofa and easy chairs. But why would you do that? Even if it rains, the lake and the area are magical and reward each and every excursion.Croftville Road was a true discovery for me this trip, and I shall return. Opel One has my vote for the return trip! Cascade Rentals made every step of the process effortless, and the cabin was clean and well supplied, also a cabin with a character of its own.
Edina
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We loved this cozy cabin! It was sunny and in the 70's the weekend we were there and I spent an entire afternoon reading a book on the deck overlooking Lake Superior. The views were spectacular! The cabin is small but has a fairly large loft area so we could have definitely brought our two kids along as well. In fact, we considered staying at this cabin in the winter with our kids so we could ski at Lutsen. It would be perfect!!
Fridley
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We love Nordkapp and look forward to returning as soon as we leave. The cabin is so well cared for -- by the people who visit and by the caretakers themselves!
Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This cabin was absolutely wonderful. It had all the amenities we could hope for, fully stocked kitchen, fireplace, sauna, whirlpool tub, gorgeous surroundings, fabulous decks, comfy furniture and beds. My fianc and I spent 3 nights here and would rent again in a heartbeat!
Shoreview
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The Minne Me is the real thing--a hand built cabin by a craftsman who built several cabins on Cascade Beach Rd., still mostly the same as when it was built, I'm guessing. The view is fantastic, and the large boulder rock private beach is wonderful. Close enough to Grand Marais to hop into town as desired, and a great location for a day trip to Grand Portage. I have been renting from Cascade Vacation Rentals for years, and they are the best! Forget the big resorts--a private home with a private beach is the way to go for peace, quiet, and a real north shore experience.
St. Paul
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Great place to stay if you would enjoy a classic small cabin in the north woods. The fireplace is beautiful and there's lots of firewood. Beautiful rock slab beach is an enjoyable place to hang out. You can see other cabins, but it feels private. One of the best things about the cabin is the access to Cascade State Park and Grand Marais. Good food, good hiking, and lots of other fun things to do.
Mound
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Stayed with friends for two nights. Caught smallmouth bass right off dock. Sauna worked great. Great place to stay.
Big Lake
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This house was fantastic! My parents were here visiting from Wyoming and we drove up the North shore on our motorcycles, so we didn't want to stay directly in a house on Lake Superior. The view was beautiful. The craftsmanship inside the house was very detailed and the deck was a perfect spot to get together at the end of the day. As a last minute booking I think we found a little piece of paradise!!!
McVille
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The lodge had a great cabin feel from floor to ceiling, with lots of interesting antiques and mementos. The location is very private and the different views of the lake during the day were awesome. We loved it!
Lakeville
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This was a perfect place for a weekend get-away. Lots of room to roam (both inside and out), fully furnished with everything you need, with a view that is amazing.
Edina
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Lovely place to stay. House is well kept and stylish, very comfortable. The yard has a fire pit, picnic table, little pond. It's just minutes from Lutsen and 30 minutes from Grand Marais. We would definitely go again.
Coon Rapids
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The view takes your breath away! Home like feel. Lots of space. Great location. Many things to do.Can't wait to go back.
Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Everything we needed and more was here, including games, cards, magazines and books. The home was very comfortable and had a gorgeous view of the lake. We were able to have our dog with us, so it made for a perfect weekend away.
Rochester
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Illahee is a wonderful home on Lake Superior that is well-cared for with nice personal furnishings and decorations. Both inside or outside on the decks or lakeside gazebo offered spectacular views and areas for relaxation, reading and games. The owner's journal of the remodeling was a special find, as were books on the area's activities. We can't wait to return to Illahee!
Scandia
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Illahee is a lovely home with impeccable attention to detail. It is incredibly comfortable and very relaxing. The view is spectacular, and we enjoyed a campfire on the shores of Lake Superior, relaxed in the gazebo, and had many memorable experiences between three generations (grandparents/parents, daughter/mom, and daughters/granddaughters).The home is centrally located and a quick drive to town. We enjoyed being able to travel up to Sag Lake/Gunflint Trail one day and come back down to spend the a quiet evening.The pathway to the beach is nice for children and adults to use, and having it lit at night makes for a safer journey back to the home. It is not an aDa accessible pathway or suitable for seniors who may have difficulty with mobility/walking.My daughters are asking when we can return...and I certainly would love to spend an extended period of time there. It's such a relaxing and peaceful place to be.
Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Great place. Very clean and loved the sauna!! Thanks for the great vacation.
Lake Elmo
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Heaven Sent is the perfect name for this wonderful vacation home. It is very secluded and the views from all of the windows are wonderful. The home is very unique with it's spiral staircases and balconies. We stayed for a week last year and decided a week was not enough. When we came home we reserved it for 2 weeks this spring. We are really looking forward to our vacation there. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.
Glenwood City
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
A wonderful place to kick and relax as well as adventure into the North Woods. Lake Superior was mesmerizing as usual and the home was extremely welcoming.
St. Cloud
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We had a fantastic week at Heaven Sent. The location is beautiful and serene, and the house is unique in the way it takes advantage of the views from every angle. Our dog was very happy to be included and loved being in the water and out on the deck. Wish we could have stayed even longer!
River Falls
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We loved the Grand Vu property. From the moment you pull into the driveway you leave the day to day world and enter into a private dream world where the focus is on the lake. Stocked with everything you could need, the 70s rustic style of the home was clean and comfortable.