Guest Reviews

Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Our family had a great vacation in this cottage. Right on Lake Superior, with nice big windows that wrap around two sides of the house, a kitchen with everything we needed in it, lots of games/puzzles/toys to keep the kids busy, nice big fireplace with lots of wood outside, and a gigantic table for everyone to spread out on. Also this cabin is very centrally located - right across the street from the Lutsen entrance, close to Bluefin Bay, Temperance and Cascade, and just down the road from Grand Marais. Would stay there again in a minute, and would definitely recommend to others.
Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Great cozy cabin with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. Lots of character and a great space for a group to cook and enjoy the fire place. It would also be nice in the summer with a big deck to sit outside on.
Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
I love Pointavu and plan to go back. The view of the lake, the amount of natural light that gets in, and the spacious accommodations made it perfect for my group's reunion trip. It is fully stocked with every possible kitchen gadget, which was very useful since we did a lot of cooking. It was very clean and welcoming and has lots of little amenities (games, Dvds, books) I will return!
St. Peter
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We had a relaxing and fabulous week! We enjoyed the home and all it had to offer! The deck was wonderful and the easy lake access wonderful. We could find no fault with the place other than we had to leave. There was nothing we would consider missing at the house. It was well stocked and everything was easy to find. We were all able to relax and unwind and escape our normal routines for one week!!
Duluth
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This house had such a warm, comfortable, homey feeling. It was a great size. We've even talked about maybe a family holiday celebration there in the future. It was a nice drive from there to Grand Marais, and there was a beautiful view of the Lake from the front windows. My sister and I are both out of the house now, and I have two little ones, so it was really fun to go with just our parents and have some time together just the four of us. We would stay here again!
Crystal
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We've stayed at just about all of Opel's cabins over the 30+ years we've been visiting the Grand Marais area, and their Shoreside cabin is our favorite. It provides a gorgeous view of the sunrise over Lake Superior. We enjoy campfires by the lake and relaxing on the deck. The kitchen is modern and the beds are comfortable. We've already booked a stay for late summer and can hardly wait to get back there.
Crystal
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
As always, we found the service to be very accommodating! We love Opel's Shoreside and the way it's situated on the shore! It has a great view of the Lake! This is either our third of fourth stay there! There are so many interesting and creative decorations in this very comfortable cabin! We also enjoy the convenience of Croftville Rd. for walking!
Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This was the second time staying at Opel Shoreside. The first visit was for just 2 nights and that was not enough. We went back in October for a week. We just love the cabin and the location right off the lake. We didn't need to bring anything but food. The cabin supplied all the rest. We seen a bald eagle every morning flying by the back deck right off the lake. Beautiful! Had a bon fire each evening. We will be gong back next spring/summer for sure!
St. Paul
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Beautifully kept cabin! It's our 3rd year staying at one of the Opel Cabins, and they are always great. Clean, all of the basics, just what you need for a nice weekend on the North Shore.
Omaha
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The cabin is ideally situated on peaceful Croftville Road, with a small section of private beach shared with the 2 other Opel cabins. Check-in was very easy... be sure to stop in Tofte on your way up, to get the key. The cabin is small but beds are comfortable. We didn't use the kitchen appliances, so can't comment on those. No microwave, but everything else is there. Bathroom is small but plenty of hot water and water pressure. Great view of the lake! Overall, a good value.
Urbandale
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
I had stayed in Lake Superior cabins in the '60s and '70s and wanted to recreate the experience with my kids. It was just what we were looking for. We loved to sit on the porch and watch the lake and made a fire in the fire pit nearly every night for s'mores. It is not fancy or luxe, just peaceful and serene.
Fargo
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This little cabin may be little but it is big on charm and simplicity. Situated just a stones throw from Lake Superior, it offers splendid views from just the front porch. There is access to a little beach just across the road (and adjacent to another Opel cabin that is literally on the shore). For the upper north shore I was surprised that places like this still exist since much of the shore is being commercialized by big resorts. I like Opel 2 because it is simple. It has a kitchen, fridge, bathroom with shower, 2 bedrooms and a porch. The cabin is just a short drive from the Grand Marias downtown. And there are some great parks along the highway up the shore- I recommend CR Magney. As a home base for daytime adventures this place fit the bill.
North St. Paul
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Quaint basic cabin. Very clean. Wonderful view from the porch, each access to water's edge, all on a quiet street. We will do it again sometime soon.
White Bear Township
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
If you are looking for a clean, well supplied place to stay while exploring the North Shore, Opel One is the cabin for you! The front bedroom features the feeling of being on the lake, and the entire cabin enjoys the sound of the waves at all times. The back bedroom is cozy, and the main area has a kitchen table, four chairs and all you need to cook meals. There is no living room -- so your time should be spent outdoors exploring or maybe eating at the table or playing scrabble . . . we also did one of the jigsaw puzzles conveniently supplied. The deck has chairs for lake-watching, and the steps to a private beach are few and easily negotiated. Lake Superior is magical, and you can get no closer . . . and also no better "deal" for your vacation budget. But . . . if for some odd reason you come to the North Shore to stay indoors, you will miss a sofa and easy chairs. But why would you do that? Even if it rains, the lake and the area are magical and reward each and every excursion.Croftville Road was a true discovery for me this trip, and I shall return. Opel One has my vote for the return trip! Cascade Rentals made every step of the process effortless, and the cabin was clean and well supplied, also a cabin with a character of its own.
Edina
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We loved this cozy cabin! It was sunny and in the 70's the weekend we were there and I spent an entire afternoon reading a book on the deck overlooking Lake Superior. The views were spectacular! The cabin is small but has a fairly large loft area so we could have definitely brought our two kids along as well. In fact, we considered staying at this cabin in the winter with our kids so we could ski at Lutsen. It would be perfect!!
Fridley
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
We love Nordkapp and look forward to returning as soon as we leave. The cabin is so well cared for -- by the people who visit and by the caretakers themselves!
Minneapolis
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This cabin was absolutely wonderful. It had all the amenities we could hope for, fully stocked kitchen, fireplace, sauna, whirlpool tub, gorgeous surroundings, fabulous decks, comfy furniture and beds. My fianc and I spent 3 nights here and would rent again in a heartbeat!
Shoreview
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The Minne Me is the real thing--a hand built cabin by a craftsman who built several cabins on Cascade Beach Rd., still mostly the same as when it was built, I'm guessing. The view is fantastic, and the large boulder rock private beach is wonderful. Close enough to Grand Marais to hop into town as desired, and a great location for a day trip to Grand Portage. I have been renting from Cascade Vacation Rentals for years, and they are the best! Forget the big resorts--a private home with a private beach is the way to go for peace, quiet, and a real north shore experience.
St. Paul
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Great place to stay if you would enjoy a classic small cabin in the north woods. The fireplace is beautiful and there's lots of firewood. Beautiful rock slab beach is an enjoyable place to hang out. You can see other cabins, but it feels private. One of the best things about the cabin is the access to Cascade State Park and Grand Marais. Good food, good hiking, and lots of other fun things to do.
Mound
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Stayed with friends for two nights. Caught smallmouth bass right off dock. Sauna worked great. Great place to stay.
Big Lake
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This house was fantastic! My parents were here visiting from Wyoming and we drove up the North shore on our motorcycles, so we didn't want to stay directly in a house on Lake Superior. The view was beautiful. The craftsmanship inside the house was very detailed and the deck was a perfect spot to get together at the end of the day. As a last minute booking I think we found a little piece of paradise!!!
McVille
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The lodge had a great cabin feel from floor to ceiling, with lots of interesting antiques and mementos. The location is very private and the different views of the lake during the day were awesome. We loved it!
Lakeville
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
This was a perfect place for a weekend get-away. Lots of room to roam (both inside and out), fully furnished with everything you need, with a view that is amazing.
Edina
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
Lovely place to stay. House is well kept and stylish, very comfortable. The yard has a fire pit, picnic table, little pond. It's just minutes from Lutsen and 30 minutes from Grand Marais. We would definitely go again.
Coon Rapids
Reviewed: Nov 11, 2013
Property Manager
The view takes your breath away! Home like feel. Lots of space. Great location. Many things to do.Can't wait to go back.